Texas License To Carry (LTC) – Handgun Course


Cost: Online Class = $49.99

Length/Times: 4 Online Classroom Hours

Prerequisite: See Texas eligibility

This is the "ONLINE Class" portion of your path to a Texas License To Carry - Handgun for the State of Texas!

Online Handgun License to Carry Course

Texas  residents interested in obtaining a License to Carry can now take the required four hours of classroom training ONLINE. This is administered by a state approved provider and our online handgun license course is approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).  Kevin Knapp is the online instructor and is certified under Texas GC 411.188 and GC 411.190 to administer the LTC Online Course (classroom instruction only).

Our Course Will:

- Guide you through the entire process

- Show you how to submit your application to the state

- Where to get your finger prints taken online

Our online handgun license course includes four hours of training that covers topics required by the DPS including gun safety, gun storage, use of force, conflict resolution and laws regulating both concealed and open carry license holders. This course can be taken on any computer or mobile device and students can complete the course as their schedule permits. The course can be completed in one four-hour block, or in small time segments as your schedule permits.

See "Performance Demonstration" below for range portion.

Cost: Class = $50 (classroom only)

Length/Times: 4-6 Classroom Hours

Students: Min 5

Prerequisite: See Texas eligibility

Group and Bundled Course Discounts Available


This is the "Instructor Lead Class" portion of your path to a Texas License To Carry - Handgun for the State of Texas!

The overall objective of the Texas License To Carry - Handgun course is to educate students on the responsibilities and laws applicable to handgun license holders.

This course DOES NOT teach someone how to shoot a handgun.

Student's are expected to come to the class with the knowledge and ability to shoot.  The State says the Performance Demonstration portion (range) is like taking the test to get a drivers license.  The applicant/student is tested to make sure they know how to operate and handle it safely.  You should go take a different course to learn how.

If you need to learn how, look to our Beginner Handgun Fundamentals Course course.

As of September 2013, Texas Law mandates that the course be at least 4-6 hrs in length to exclude the range qualification.

There are two portions of this course:

Classroom and Performance Demonstration (see below)

To receive your license from the State of Texas you must also complete the State's application & background check process.  This includes fingerprinting for the FBI Background check that will be performed on each applicant.

Instructor Lead Classroom Portion

The Texas License To Carry - Handgun course will cover the following topics in the classroom:

  1. Laws that relate to Weapons and Use of Force and Deadly Force
  2. Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
  3. Handgun Use and Safety
  4. Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child

There will be a Written Examination (closed book) at the end of all classes.  It consists of 25 multiple choice/True-False questions.  You must get a grade of 70% or higher (18 of 25 correct).

What is needed in the classroom:

* Pen/Pencil
* Note Taking Material
* Drinks & Snacks (optional - Highly Recommended)

You do not need your handgun in the class.



Cost: Range = $20.00/person (+ $10 Range Fee - Paid to Range)

Length/Times: 45 minutes - 1 hour

Students: Min 5

Prerequisite: Online LTC course

Performance Demonstration

In addition to the classroom time, students will shoot on the range for the Performance Demonstration portion of the State requirement.

The TX License To Carry - Handgun Course of Fire is designed to ensure that the applicant is familiar enough with a handgun and how to operate it safely that they can hit a static target.

A score of 70%, or 175 points of a possible 250, is required to pass. Inside the 8 ring is 5 points, 7 ring is 4 points, & all in the silhouette outside the 7 ring are 3 points.

You have up to 3 attempts to qualify.

What is needed for range:

  1. Eye Protection (sunglasses or prescription eyeglasses are sufficient)
  2. Ear protection (electronic preferred)
  3. Baseball style hat
  4. High collar shirt to prevent hot brass from going down shirt while shooting
  5. Closed toed shoes (no flip flops or sandals)
  6. WATER
  7. Seasonal weather gear/rain gear (this is an outdoor range)
  8. Factory Production Handgun (Semi Automatic or Revolver)
  9. 2 Magazines for Semi Automatic Handguns (you only need 1 for the Performance Demonstration, but if it fails…)
  10. 100 rounds of factory ammunition in original carton (50 rounds for Performance Demonstration, extra in case of need to re-shoot)  NO RELOAD AMMUNITION
  11. Cleaning kit/lubrication
  12. SIGNED HOLD HARMLESS FORM (Emailed prior to course)

Course of Fire

Stage 1 - 3 yards (20 rounds)

Exercise 1 (5 rounds)

- 1 shot in 2 seconds, 5 drills

Exercise 2 (10 rounds)

- 2 shots in 3 seconds, 5 drills

Exercise 3 (5 rounds)

- 5 shots in 10 seconds, 1 drill

Stage 2 - 7 yard line (20 rounds):

Exercise 1 (5 rounds)

- 5 shots in 10 seconds, 1 drill

Exercise 2 (5 rounds)

- 1 shot in 3 seconds, 5 drills

Exercise 3 (5 rounds)

- 2 shots in 4 seconds, 1 drill

- 3 shots in 6 seconds, 1 drill

Exercise 4 (5 rounds)

- 5 shots in 15 seconds, 1 drill


Stage 3 - 15 yard line (10 rounds):

Exercise 1 (5 rounds)

- 2 shots in 6 seconds, 1 drill

- 3 shots in 9 seconds, 1 drill

Exercise 2 (5 rounds)

- 5 shots in 15 seconds, 1 drill